EJAY, Joanne DeBernardo Honored with 2019 Kroon Cup

kroon cup 2019
Environmental Justice (EJAY), a student interest group that promotes environmental justice scholarship and activism on campus, and Assistant Dean of Student Services Joanne DeBernardo were recently awarded the 2019 Kroon Cup by the F&ES community.
The Kroon Cup is presented annually to individuals and groups that embody stewardship and implement projects that engage and inspire the School community. The winners are voted on by F&ES students, staff and faculty.
Through activities, events and activism, EJAY aims to raise awareness about the disproportionate impacts of environmental burdens on people of color, the impoverished, women, and other marginalized communities locally and globally. In the past year, EJAY has tackled the issue of colonialism within conservation and has furthered the campaign to divest Yale’s endowment from fossil fuels.
Recently, EJAY organized a symposium, “Incorporating Environmental Justice into Teaching,” which invited faculty, staff, and students from across Yale University to discuss the how to address environmental justice in the classroom, challenges and opportunities in discussing issues like race and ethnicity, and the relationship between academic and activism.
DeBernardo joined the F&ES community in 2004 and assumed the role of assistant dean in 2012, where she has overseen the Registrar’s Office, the Office of Career and Professional Development, and the F&ES Doctoral Office. She will retire this summer.

During her tenure, she has become one of the most beloved members of the F&ES community — or, as one of her nominators said, “an instrumental part of the glue that binds our community together.”
The awards were presented during the F&ES End-of-the-Year Party on April 26.
– Josh Anusewicz    joshua.anusewicz@yale.edu    203 436-8994
PUBLISHED: May 13, 2019
Note: Yale School of the Environment (YSE) was formerly known as the Yale School of Forestry & Environmental Studies (F&ES). News articles posted prior to July 1, 2020, refer to the School's name at that time.